"Derby Wharf continues to extend 2,045 feet into Salem Harbor. A steel-edged gravel pathway, ten feet wide, originally installed in 1961, extends the length of the wharf. A series of interpretive waypoints that explore waterfront and maritime themes extend the length of the walkway. A portion of the west edge of the structure is lined with contemporary wooden docks supported by wooden pilings. The historic granite block boat launch remains. The replica ship, Friendship of Salem, is docked near the Pedrick Store House, and is accessible by a series of aluminum boat ramps. The 1947 planting plan introduced grass, still the dominant ground cover. The area surrounding Derby Wharf Lighthouse at the southern terminus of the wharf was surfaced with concrete by the National Park Service in 1958. The National Park Service rehabilitated Derby Wharf again from 1991 to 1994. Routine maintenance has consisted of patching masonry walls with stone, mortar, or concrete, and the addition of fill and grading, but erosion from high tides and storm surges continues to create maintenance issues."
In early March of 2018, a severe winter storm caused significant erosion damage, and the National Park Service temporarily closed Derby Wharf. It reopened in early April of 2018, once repair work rendered it safe enough for visitor access. Engineers are currently identifying short-term stabilization work necessary to prevent further damage. NPS will hold a public meeting to discuss their findings.
Copyright 2018 Historic Salem, Inc. - All Rights Reserved
Founded in 1944, Historic Salem Inc. is dedicated to the preservation of historic buildings and sites.